Creative Culinary- Lovely Little Lentils

So this week I’m on a “No toxins diet” or a “detox” diet like normal people call them.

The past week has been a whole bunch of people coming over and lots of entertaining going down, seeing as we’ve just moved and it’s all so exciting.

Consumption of wine has reached a point where my body is now immune to it which is so horrendous. So this change is not only healthy but it is necessary; my discipline and motivation is going to be put to the test and I’m hoping to get a Distinction on this one. If I succeed I’ll plough through for another week…

So here is what I rustled up. Virtually fat free, super light & high in protein ;so really its a blinding winner.

Lentils is one of those items that you will always find in my house. They are my go-to/ HG food item. I’ve got the yellows, reds, greens, blacks, orange; you can chuck them in a salad or a meat dish or just have it as a stew. This is perfect for being creative in the kitchen and I’m going to show you how I plate up some lovely little lentils. Perfect for those quick meal kinda days. So here is the recipe to my concoction. Every household will have these ingredients and if you don’t, its OK to minus a few things and add your own twist to it! 🙂

Ingredients:

Red Lentils- 2-3 Cups

2 whole cloves

2 whole cardamoms

Ginger- Thumb size

Chillies- 3-4  Green/Red (depending on how hot you like it)

Coriander- handful

Tomatoes- handful of Cherry/plum sliced

Juice of half a lemon

Salt to taste

Method:

To 2-3 cups of lentils add 3-4 cups water and let it come to a boil. This takes approximately 20 minutes on medium heat.

While the lentils are boiling, blend all the ingredients to make a paste, apart for the cloves and cardamoms.Once the lentils are mid way through the boil, add the blended ingredients along with the cloves and cardamoms and let the lentils simmer.

Once the water has boiled away, you should be left a soup kind of consistency. Add salt to taste and garnish with coriander.

A nice touch is to add a dollop or two of Greek yogurt. This serves 3-4 people.

IMG_4962

Apologies for the poor image, the only device I have with me was my iPhone!

xxx

Leave a Reply

